Rotator Cuff

Frozen Shoulder Rotator Cuff

The rotator cuff is a group of muscles and their associated tendons which surround the shoulder joint and are responsible for rotation.


The four muscles of the rotator cuff are as follows:

  1. Supraspinatus Muscle
  2. Infraspinatus Muscle
  3. Teres Minor Muscle
  4. Subscapularis Muscle


Injury to the rotator cuff may result from a single traumatic event. However, it much more commonly presents as an overuse injury in people who repeatedly perform overhead motions.  This includes athletes involved in throwing sports and certain professions eg electrician, painters, plasterers etc. 



  • A deep, dull ache in the shoulder
  • Inability to lie on the affected side
  • Difficulty with tasks that involve rotation e.g. washing your hair, opening your bra.
  • Weakness of the arm


If you are suffering with shoulder pain and you would like more information, call us on (01) 825 2623 or email